中學到高中過渡

從中到高中的過渡活動


阿靈頓科技

25年2019月10日和2019年XNUMX月XNUMX日
7:00 - 8:30 PM

阿靈頓技術學院是一項嚴格的,基於項目的學習型高中課程,旨在通過協作解決問題的方式,為學生在大學和職場中取得成功做好準備。

阿靈頓技術信息-中文

阿靈頓技術信息-西班牙語


 ASPIRE2EXCELLENCE

APS現在已經創建了學術規劃路線圖和學生陪伴文件,以協助學生和家庭進行學術規劃。 學術規劃路線圖具有必要的信息,這些信息將為學生和家庭現在和將來的課程設計提供幫助。 請訪問以下資源 APS Aspire2卓越 現場。 點擊 大學和職業角 了解“建立通往大學和職業機會的途徑”。


華盛頓自由中學

IB文憑課程
信息會議
4-2019-XNUMXTXNUMX:XNUMX:XNUMX
7:下午00

申請流程

每個希望參加W-L IB預科課程的學生都必須提交IB預科申請。 IB預科課程申請,累積成績單和APS學生轉學申請(僅限轉學申請者)應於WL IB辦公地點於17年2020月XNUMX日提交.

  • IB預科課程適用於升入9年級和10年級的學生
  • 面向轉移家庭的APS高中信息發布會:家長必須在附近學校和理想學校同時參加高中信息發布會。 該申請必須由兩位校長簽名。 申請已提交給期望的學校。
前置應用組件:所有組件都必須由 17-2020-XNUMXTXNUMX:XNUMX:XNUMX 被考慮。
  1. APS學校選項申請
  2. 累積成績單(必須包括6年級的7年級,1年級和8分之一)。 在學校選項申請中上傳。
  3. 短文 由學生完成 (200個字以內)。 提示:“您認為高中最大的挑戰是什麼? 您期望如何應對這一挑戰?”
  4. 簽名確認頁:學生和家長

WL Pre-IB的​​先決條件

  • 五年級以上的代數I或8年級以上的幾何
  • 8年級的西班牙語II,法語II,阿拉伯語II,中文II或拉丁語I或9年級的西班牙語III,法語III,阿拉伯語III,中文III或拉丁語II
  • 英語和歷史上的A和B
  • 所有科目均為A和B
  • 簡短的答案/文章問題

選擇過程

招生委員會使用 專欄 其中包含上述先決條件和學生的簡短回答問題。 然後根據申請者的得分對其進行排名。 任何得分在13分或以上(滿分18分)的學生均被視為合格。 如果申請人是9年級的新生,則招生委員會只會審查6年級和7年級的最終成績,以及8年級的第一季度成績。 即將升入10年級的申請人將對其6年級至8年級的最終成績進行審查,再加上9年級的第一季度成績。

校務委員會每年限制課程轉學的數量(WL Pre-IB和IB文憑課程)。 校務委員會在XNUMX月宣布了每個學年的轉學次數。 此數字基於XNUMX月的入學預測。 如果合格轉學的數量超過了可用轉學職位的數量,那麼監督辦公室將進行一次隨機,雙盲抽獎,以確定選擇了哪些學生。 如果計劃中有職位的學生選擇不接受,其餘的學生將被列入候補候補名單中,以供考慮。 當有空位時,將按照彩票確定的順序為候補名單上的學生提供入場券。 當等待名單上的學生有資格填補現有班級的空缺時,將聯繫該家庭並邀請他們為孩子報名。 個人申請人將在XNUMX月收到書面通知。


約克鎮高中

22-2020-XNUMXTXNUMX:XNUMX:XNUMX
6:30 PM-8 PM:30 PM

2020年– 2021年,約克鎮高中的學術計劃和時間表

這是收集更多信息的好機會,它將幫助您確定2020-21學年最合適的課程選擇。 如果您還有其他問題,請聯繫Yorktown諮詢總監Mark Rooks,網址為: mark.rooks@apsva.us 或703-228-5363。

  • 與老師和輔導員交談。
  • 了解下一學年的課程選擇。
  • 收聽AP小組討論。
  • 查看畢業要求。
  • 約克鎮諮詢部

Middle to High School Transition

MIDDLE TO HIGH SCHOOL TRANSITION EVENTS


Arlington Tech

November 25, 2019 and December 10, 2019
7:00 – 8:30 PM

Arlington Tech is a rigorous, project-based learning, high school program that prepares students to succeed in college and in the workplace through collaborative problem solving.

Arlington Tech Information -English

Arlington Tech Information -Spanish


 ASPIRE2EXCELLENCE

APS has now created an academic planning roadmap and student companion documents to assist students and families with academic planning.  The academic planning roadmap has essential information that will help students and families when planning for coursework now and in the future.  Please access these resources on the APS Aspire2Excellence site.  Click on the College and Career Corner to learn about “Building a path to college and career opportunities.”


Washington-Liberty High School

IB Diploma Programme
Information Session
December 4, 2019
7:00 PM

Application Process

Each student who wishes to participate in W-L’s Pre-IB program must submit a Pre-IB application.  The Pre-IB application, cumulative transcript, and APS pupil transfer application (transfer applicants only) are due to the W-L IB office January 17, 2020.

  • Pre-IB application for rising 9th and 10th graders
  • APS High School Information Sessions for transfer families: A parent must attend a high school information session at both the neighborhood school and desired school. The application must be signed by both principals.  The application is submitted to the desired school.
PRE- IB APPLICATION COMPONENTS: All components must be received by January 17, 2020 to be considered.
  1. APS School Options Application
  2. Cumulative transcript (must include 6th, 7th, and 1st quarter of 8th grade). Upload in School Options Application.
  3. Short essay to be completed by student (200 words or less). PROMPT:  “What do you see as the greatest challenge(s) of high school?  How do you expect to meet this challenge?”
  4. Signature acknowledgement page:  student and parent

Prerequisites for W-L Pre-IB

  • Algebra I or higher in 8th grade or Geometry or higher in 9th grade
  • Spanish II, French II, Arabic II, Chinese II or Latin I in 8th grade OR Spanish III, French III, Arabic III, Chinese III or Latin II in 9th grade
  • A’s and B’s in English and History
  • A’s and B’s in all subjects
  • Short answer/essay questions

Selection Process

An admissions committee scores each student’s application using a rubric which incorporates the above- mentioned prerequisites and the student’s short-answer question.  Applicants are then ranked according to their score.  Any student that scores an 13 or higher, out of a possible 18 points, is deemed qualified for acceptance.  If the applicant is a rising 9th grader, the admissions committee will only review final grades for 6th and 7th, and first quarter grades for 8th grade.  Rising 10th grade applicants will have their final grades reviewed for 6th through 8th, plus first quarter grades for 9th grade.

The School Board caps the number of program transfers (W-L Pre-IB and IB Diploma Program) each year.  Number of transfers for the each school year is announced by School Board in November.  This number is based on November enrollment projections. If the number of qualified transfers exceeds the number of available transfer positions, a random, double-blind lottery will be conducted by the Superintendent’s Office to determine which students are selected.  The remaining students will be placed on a waiting list of alternates to be considered in the event that a student who is offered a position in the program chooses not to accept.  As space becomes available, admission will be offered to students on the waiting list in the order established by the lottery. When a student on the waiting list is eligible to fill a vacancy in an existing class, the family will be contacted and invited to enroll their child. Individual applicants will be notified in writing in February.


Yorktown High School

January 22, 2020
6:30 PM – 8:30 PM

2020 – 2021 Academic Planning and Scheduling at Yorktown High School

This is a great opportunity to gather more information that will assist you in determining the most appropriate course selection for the 2020-21 school year.  If you have additional questions, please contact Mark Rooks, Director of Counseling at Yorktown at mark.rooks@apsva.us or 703-228-5363.

  • Talk to teachers and counselors.
  • Learn about course selections for the next school year.
  • Listen to an AP panel discussion.
  • Check out graduation requirements.
  • Yorktown Counseling Department